Insert your Windows XP SP3 Disk

What a way to start the day!  One of our machines was brutally attacked by a virus and I don’t know what’s worse – the virus, or the anti-virus software that deleted what it called a non-standard windows file.  I always like when my windows core operating system files either get deleted or corrupted.   It’s like getting a surprise root canal without having to schedule it a month in advance.

This would probably be a 3 or 4 minute operation normally – just insert your Windows XP SP3 disk and DONE!

Oh, wait – That’s right – this is an old machine and I’ve always just upgraded using Windows Update to GET to SP3.  The SP1 disk won’t help me.  I managed to find an SP2 disk in hopes that if I used a sharpie and wrote over the 2 and made it 3, it might work.  Uh, no.

Luckily, I’m not the only one to have ever been through this and I found an excellent article by David Karp on PCMAG.COM that painlessly walks you through the operation.  It involves slipstreaming, which sounds really exciting if you’ve ever watched an episode of Star Trek.  It wasn’t as exciting, as time travel, but it was certainly a learning experience.

Here is a link to his excellent article:  Build an XP SP3 Recovery Disc

Thanks, David!

Leave a Reply

