Move your Firefox cache to a ramdisk and speed up your day

Lifehacker posted a quick article today about moving your Firefox cache to a ramdisk to speed up your browsing.  I read it a few times and then took the plunge.

I’m impressed.  I had to download a free RAMdisk program for XP.  I chose RAMdisk by DataRam.  Setup was easy but my machine locked up right after the install.  After a reboot, though, all was well.  Once installed, I configured it for a modest 50 megs of space (if you have the ram, you can do more).

Next I had to figure out how to get Firefox to use it.  I found this article which covered how to configure Firefox and I was off and running.

Facebook runs a lot faster.  I used to use ram disks all the time in the early days of DOS, but I don’t use them all that much anymore.  It’s a shame, really, because they really do make a massive improvement in cache type operations.

Try this change out, and I think you’ll be pleased with the results.

Leave a Reply

